6 May 2016
Media Release - #2016059, 2016

Appointments to the Australian Competition Tribunal

Treasurer, the Hon. Scott Morrison today announced four new appointments and two reappointments to the Australian Competition Tribunal.

The Hon. Justice John Middleton will serve as the new part-time President for a period of five years, following the retirement of the Hon. Justice John Mansfield in July. The Hon. Justices Andrew Greenwood, David Yates and Alan Robertson will serve as part-time Deputy Presidents, each for a period of five years.

I would like to thank Justice John Mansfield for his service to the Tribunal since 2008, first as a Deputy-President and then President. His efforts across a wide range of economic matters that go before the Tribunal has been highly valued.

Professor Kevin Davis and Dr Darryn Abraham were reappointed as part-time members, both for a period of five years.

The Australian Competition Tribunal (the Tribunal) is an independent statutory tribunal that hears applications for authorisation of company mergers and acquisitions which would otherwise be prohibited under the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (CCA). The Tribunal also considers appeals on certain Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) decisions.

The Hon. Justice John Middleton is currently appointed as a part-time Deputy President of the Tribunal. Justice Middleton brings extensive experience in competition law and is a member of a number of other bodies, including the Australia Law Reform Commission.

The Hon. Justice Andrew Greenwood, in addition to being a Judge of the Federal Court, is an Adjunct Professor at the University of Queensland Law School and Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law. Justice Greenwood will bring technical knowledge and experience in competition and third party access regimes, having held positions such as the Queensland Chair of the Trade Practices Committee, Law Council of Australia.

The Hon. Justice Alan Robertson has been a member of the Federal Court since April 2011 and has extensive public sector experience, including in the Attorney-General's Department. During his time at the bar, Justice Robertson practice in competition law. He will bring his extensive experience as a practitioner and Judge in competition law to the Tribunal.

The Hon. Justice David Yates has extensive experience in intellectual property, including having been a member of the New South Wales Committee, Intellectual Property Society of Australian and New Zealand. Justice Yates will provide a divers view point to the Tribunal.

Professor Kevin Davis is currently a Professor of Finance at the University of Melbourne and has been a member of the Tribunal since 17 August 2011. Professor Davis has an extensive academic career in finance and economics, having previously held the positions of lecturer and senior lecturer of economics at Adelaide University. His reappointment will ensure the Tribunal has the required expertise in commerce and economics.

Dr Darryn Abraham has been a member of the Tribunal since 17 August 2011 and is the Owner Director of Acacia CRE Pty Ltd, an economic consultancy. He has previously held senior roles at the Commonwealth Treasury and is strongly qualified in economics, having obtained a PhD and Masters from the Australian National University.

I congratulate Justices Middleton, Greenwood, Yates and Robertson and Professor Davis and Dr Abraham on their appointments and look forward to each of them making a significant contribution to the important work of the Tribunal.