27 April 2017
Media Release - #2017035, 2017

Appointment of Commissioners of Taxation

Joint media release
with the Hon Kelly O’Dwyer MP
Minister for Revenue and Financial Services

The Turnbull Government has today announced the reappointment of Mr Chris Jordan AO as Commissioner of Taxation and the appointment of Mr Ramez Katf as Second Commissioner of Taxation.

Mr Jordan’s term as Commissioner of Taxation, and Registrar of the Australian Business Register, which had been slated to conclude at the end of 2019, will now run until 29 February 2024. Mr Katf’s term will run from 1 May 2017 to 30 April 2024.

Mr Jordan has shown strong leadership in working with the Government to implement its strong multinational tax avoidance laws.

The ATO recently confirmed that this year alone, it has raised $2.9 billion in tax liabilities against a group of just seven multinational companies. Additionally, the ATO has advised that it expects to raise more than $4 billion in additional tax liabilities this year from large public groups and multinationals. And further, just last week the ATO had a major win in the Full Federal Court over Chevron, who were seeking to reduce their tax with aggressive internal transfer pricing arrangements.

With the Government’s support and additional funding, it is clear the ATO is delivering real results under Mr Jordan’s leadership of the tax office.

Mr Katf is currently on the ATO Executive team as Chief Information Officer and has extensive experience in driving and implementing transformational change in large organisations.  As Second Commissioner, Mr Katf will maintain the CIO role and continue to focus on modernising the revenue collection system and contributing to the Government’s broader digital agenda.

Both appointments announced today provide longer term certainty and stability for the leadership of the ATO and provide the community and the tax profession with assurance that the changes instigated so far at the ATO will continue for the longer term. 

The ATO’s Executive team has a wealth of experience and expertise, diverse capabilities and backgrounds, and is committed to providing Australians with a leading tax and superannuation administration with contemporary service, expertise and integrity.

The ATO Executive team consists of:

  • Commissioner Chris Jordan AO,
  • Chief Operating Officer, Jacqui Curtis,
  • Chief Service Delivery Officer, Melinda Smith, 
  • Chief Finance Officer, Frances Cawthra,
  • Second Commissioner Neil Olesen,
  • Second Commissioner Andrew Mills, and
  • Second Commissioner and CIO, Ramez Katf.