23 December 2015
Media Release - #2015030, 2015

National Competition Council appointments

Treasurer the Hon. Scott Morrison today announced the following appointments to the National Competition Council (the Council):

  • Ms Julie-Anne Schafer as the part-time Council President for a three-year period from 18 December 2015 up to and including 17 December 2018; and
  • Mr Martin Wallace as a part-time Councillor for a three-year period from 18 December 2015 up to and including 17 December 2018

Ms Schafer has 25 years of experience as a partner in the legal services sector. She holds a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) degree and has served on advisory committees for the law faculties of several universities in Queensland. She was also the Deputy Chancellor of the Queensland University of Technology. She has over 15 years of directorship experience in diverse and highly regulated sectors, including road and rail transport.

Mr Wallace was previously the Secretary of the Tasmania Department of Treasury and Finance and holds a Bachelor of Economics (Honours). He has more than 30 years of direct experience in public administration and business and financial management in addition to his experience with the energy and telecommunications sectors and regulatory policy. He is an experienced board member and has been a director of Aurora Energy Pty Ltd, Tasmanian Public Finance Corporation and Tastel Limited.

The Council is an advisory body which was established in 1995 by agreement of the Council of Australian Governments.  The Council’s main function is to make recommendations under the National Access Regime in Part IIIA of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 and recommendations and decisions under the National Gas Law.

These appointments ensure the Council continues to have a high level of skill and experience to call on in fulfilling its important role.