13 November 2015
Media Release - #2015009, 2015

Reappointment of a part-time member of the Payments System Board

Today I reappointed Mr Brian Wilson as a part-time member of the Payments System Board for a further five year period until 14 November 2020.

Mr Wilson has over 30 years of investment banking experience, specialising in corporate financial advice, with experience in both funds and investment management.

He was a co-founder of Lazard in Australia in 2004 and was previously a Vice-Chairman of Citigroup Australia and its predecessor companies.

Currently, Mr Wilson is Chair of the Australian Government’s Foreign Investment Review Board, Deputy Chancellor of the University of Technology, Sydney, and a non-executive director of Bell Financial Group Ltd.

Since 1998, the Payments System Board has had the responsibility for the Reserve Bank of Australia’s payments system policy.

The Reserve Bank Act 1959 provides that the Payments System Board consist of up to eight members, including the Governor and one other representative of the Reserve Bank, one representative from the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority and up to five independent members.

I take this opportunity to congratulate Mr Wilson on his reappointment.